ASWB exam prep, compared
Grad PLUS loans are no longer available to new graduate borrowers as of July 1, 2026, so the cost of passing matters more this year.
| Provider | Price as printed | What it buys | If you do not pass | Updated for the August 2026 exam |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Social Work Test Prep Academy (SWTPA)Full Access | $129 / one-time | One-time payment: no subscription, no auto-renew; full access to LCSW, LMSW, and LBSW exams; adaptive learning and performance analytics | “Access until you pass, free extensions if you need them” | “aligned with the 2026 ASWB exam” |
| Agents of ChangeClinical (LCSW) Basics | $ 125 | 30+ hours of content; 2 live study groups per month; access to materials until you pass | “Full refunds are available within 48 hours of purchase if less than 10% of the course is completed. After that, all sales are final.” | “Our materials are fully updated for the post-8/3/26 version of the ASWB exam.” |
| Agents of Change says: “More than 100,000 Social Workers just like you have used these materials to PASS their licensing exams.” | ||||
| Agents of ChangeClinical (LCSW) Premium + Power Pack | $225 (crossed out), $ 175 Limited Time Offer! | Basics plus a 122-question practice exam and rationales; 15 case vignettes with video rationales; 25+ recorded study groups; priority support; access to materials until you pass | “Full refunds are available within 48 hours of purchase if less than 10% of the course is completed. After that, all sales are final.” | “Our materials are fully updated for the post-8/3/26 version of the ASWB exam.” |
| Agents of Change says: “More than 100,000 Social Workers just like you have used these materials to PASS their licensing exams.” | ||||
| Therapist Development CenterLCSW Exam Prep: ASWB Clinical Level Exam | Not shown on the course page | Over 75 hours of content, with the option to repeat the program as needed; 800+ practice exam questions with detailed rationales; email access to coaches | “There are no extra charges if you need to extend or retake the program.” | Not stated |
| Therapist Development Center says: “We've helped over 100,000 social workers and MFTs pass their licensure exams.” | ||||
| Social Work Test Prep1 exam | 1 exam – $39 | Full-length ASWB-style exam, rationales, Exam Coach, 90 days of access, extensions free on request | “Keep going till you pass. Extensions are free.” | “All tests reflect the new, August 2026 exam format.” |
| Social Work Test PrepComplete Exam Bundle | $164 (save $86) | 5 practice exams, DSM Booster, Ethics Booster, Ethics & the Exam ebook; 1000+ questions | “Keep going till you pass. Extensions are free.” | “All tests reflect the new, August 2026 exam format.” |
| Pocket PrepASWB LCSW Premium, 1 month | 1 Month: $20.99 billed monthly | 2000 questions with explanations; mock exam; 13 behavioral health exams | “Pass your upcoming exam with Pocket Prep or we will provide you with three additional months of access to Premium Prep for free.” | Not stated |
| Pocket PrepASWB LCSW Premium, 3 months | 3 Months: $49.99 billed every 3 months | 2000 questions with explanations; mock exam; 13 behavioral health exams | “Pass your upcoming exam with Pocket Prep or we will provide you with three additional months of access to Premium Prep for free.” | Not stated |
| Pocket PrepASWB LCSW Premium, 12 months | 12 Months: $124.99 billed annually | 2000 questions with explanations; mock exam; 13 behavioral health exams | “Pass your upcoming exam with Pocket Prep or we will provide you with three additional months of access to Premium Prep for free.” | Not stated |
| Springer Publishing (Apgar)Social Work Licensing Clinical Exam Guide and Additional Print Practice Test Set | From $169.99 | 5th edition exam guide and 4th edition practice test set, in print | “100% pass guarantee (details inside)” | “fully updated for the 2026 ASWB exam” |
| Springer Publishing (Apgar) says: “ready to pass the ASWB LCSW exam—the first time.” | ||||
Last checked October 18, 2026. Quotes are copied from each provider's own page on that date; prices and terms change, and the provider's page is the source of record.
Pass rates
No provider on this page publishes an independently audited pass rate, and SWTPA does not claim one. Where a provider makes a claim about passing, it is quoted under its row in its own words.
SWTPA is not affiliated with ASWB or with any provider listed here.