{
  "_schema": {
    "about": "Social work licensing requirements per US jurisdiction, for the FIRST credential an MSW graduate holds in that jurisdiction.",
    "nullRule": "null means we have not read that figure off the board's own page. It never means zero. Do not substitute a default, an average or another state's number.",
    "attribution": "Social Work Test Prep Academy is not affiliated with any state licensing board or with ASWB. We read each board's published pages and record what they say; the board's page is the source of record. Requirements change.",
    "fields": {
      "abbr": "Two-letter USPS code, uppercase.",
      "name": "Jurisdiction name.",
      "url": "Absolute URL of the human-readable page.",
      "json": "Absolute URL of the full record for this jurisdiction.",
      "checked": "true when we have read this board's own pages and published the record. false means no data yet, not \"no requirements\".",
      "firstCredential": "The first credential an MSW graduate holds here (abbreviation, title, and the ASWB exam category needed to hold it: \"none\" when it is issued without one, null when an exam applies but no board rule names its level, or when the sources disagree on whether one applies).",
      "examRequiredFirst": "true when the ASWB exam gates that first credential. false when the jurisdiction licenses or registers you first and the exam comes later (Michigan, California, Florida, Illinois). null when there is no yes-or-no ASWB answer; examOrderReason says why.",
      "examOrderReason": "Why examRequiredFirst is null (null when it is true or false). \"applicant\": the rule turns on the applicant (Connecticut's degree-date cutoff, Minnesota's provisional route, Colorado's jurisprudence exam). \"provider_unconfirmed\": an exam comes first but the rule names only one approved by the board, not ASWB (Louisiana). \"unchecked\": we have not read the board, or the first rung (Nebraska PCMSW). \"sources_conflict\": the primary sources disagree on whether the exam applies, so neither reading is stated (no jurisdiction today). The per-state JSON `summary` states the rule.",
      "knownFeesUsd": "Sum of ONLY the fixed fees the board publishes for that first credential, in US dollars. null when it publishes none. A level-dependent ASWB exam fee (a fee line with amount_by_level) is never in it; it is charged in addition.",
      "hours": "Plain-language supervised-hour requirement on the path, or the not-checked sentence.",
      "lastChecked": "ISO date WE last read the board pages behind this record. It is not a board review, approval or sign-off.",
      "compactMember": "true when the jurisdiction has enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact. null when not checked.",
      "compactStatus": "Social Work Licensure Compact status: \"enacted\", \"pending_legislation\" or \"no_active_legislation\", with the page it was read from and the ISO date checked. null when not checked.",
      "compactLicenses": "Whether multistate compact licenses are being issued anywhere yet, with the compact's own statement quoted and the ISO date checked.",
      "ladder": "Every rung of the licensure ladder in order. `exam` is the ASWB category required to HOLD that rung (\"none\" = no ASWB exam; null = an exam applies but no board rule names its level); `supervised` means practice only under supervision. Optional: `examChoice` (\"board\" | \"applicant\") says who picks from a multi-level `exam`; `checked: false` marks a rung we have not read a record for (not checked yet, never another license's steps); `examProvider: \"unconfirmed\"` marks a rule that names only an exam approved by the board, so ASWB is not asserted.",
      "fees": "The board's own fee lines for the first credential, each with the page it was read from. amount_usd is null when the board does not publish the amount (counted in unknownFeeCount), or when conflict is true: the sources state different amounts, so neither is used (counted in conflictFeeCount, never in knownFeesUsd). A line with amount_by_level is an ASWB exam fee that depends on the level, kept out of knownFeesUsd.",
      "aswbExam": "The exam for the first credential: level (null when no rule names it) and fee. provider \"unconfirmed\" when the rule names only an exam approved by the board, not ASWB. null when the credential is issued without an exam or its rung is not checked yet.",
      "supervision": "The supervised-experience package on the path, each figure with its own source page. A figure the board does not publish is null, and so is one with conflict: true, where the sources state different figures and neither is used (the hours line says it is not confirmed).",
      "applicationSequence": "The board's published order of operations, in the board's own terms.",
      "sources": "The board and statute pages this record was read from.",
      "records": "The raw rulebook records for this jurisdiction, unmodified.",
      "dataProblems": "Every field we could not state plainly, one entry per field: `credential` is the record it belongs to, `path` the field inside that record, `kind` why (unchecked, unpublished, not_applicable, conflict, stale_source, no_single_total), `note` the specifics, `sources` what each source says, verbatim, `askTheBoard` the question to put to the board (or null), `checked` the ISO date we read them. Empty when there are none."
    }
  },
  "abbr": "ND",
  "name": "North Dakota",
  "url": "https://www.socialworktestprepacademy.com/licensing/nd",
  "license": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
  "checked": true,
  "lastChecked": "2026-09-27",
  "board": {
    "name": "North Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners",
    "url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/"
  },
  "firstCredential": {
    "abbr": "LMSW",
    "title": "Licensed Master Social Worker",
    "rung": "masters",
    "exam": "Masters"
  },
  "examRequiredFirst": true,
  "examOrderReason": null,
  "summary": "The ASWB Masters exam is required before the license.",
  "aswbExam": {
    "level": "Masters",
    "feeUsd": 230
  },
  "knownFeesUsd": 330,
  "unknownFeeCount": 0,
  "conflictFeeCount": 0,
  "fees": [
    {
      "name": "Non-refundable application fee",
      "amount_usd": 25,
      "source_url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/lcsw/applyinitial/index.asp",
      "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
    },
    {
      "name": "Initial license fee",
      "amount_usd": 75,
      "source_url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/lcsw/applyinitial/index.asp",
      "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
    },
    {
      "name": "ASWB Masters examination",
      "amount_usd": 230,
      "source_url": "https://www.aswb.org/exam/",
      "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
    }
  ],
  "supervision": {
    "experience_hours": {
      "value": 3000,
      "source_url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/licsw/reqs.asp",
      "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
    },
    "client_contact_hours": {
      "value": null,
      "source_url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/mswsupervisionplan.asp",
      "verified_date": "2026-09-27",
      "notes": "The Board's supervision-plan page states no client-contact figure separate from the 3,000-hour total."
    },
    "supervision_hours": {
      "value": 150,
      "source_url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/mswsupervisionplan.asp",
      "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
    },
    "minimum_months": null,
    "maximum_months": {
      "value": 48,
      "source_url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/licsw/reqs.asp",
      "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
    },
    "notes": [
      "The Board's supervision-plan page does not state a client-contact-hours figure separate from the 3,000-hour total, so client_contact_hours stays null.",
      "No calendar minimum is published, only the 4-year maximum, so minimum_months stays null. The Board says it cannot extend a plan past 4 years; hours from the start of the plan are lost instead.",
      "The Board's page prints the 3,000-hour and first-1,500-hours-under-an-LCSW text under the heading 'Qualification of Supervisor', but N.D.C.C. 43-41-04(3)(c)(2) makes it the applicant's requirement, not the supervisor's."
    ]
  },
  "hours": "3,000 hours, 150 supervision, for the LCSW",
  "compactMember": true,
  "compactNote": null,
  "compactStatus": {
    "status": "enacted",
    "sourceUrl": "https://swcompact.org/compact-jurisdictions/",
    "checkedOn": "2026-09-27"
  },
  "compactLicenses": {
    "issued": false,
    "statement": "The Social Work Licensure Compact has been enacted in at least seven states and has reached activation status, however multistate licenses are not yet being issued. The implementation process for the compact will take 12 to 24 months before multistate licenses are able to issued.",
    "sourceUrl": "https://swcompact.org/",
    "checkedOn": "2026-10-18"
  },
  "applicationSequence": [
    "Hold a master's degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited college or university, or a Canadian college or university accredited by the Canadian Association for Social Work Education (ndbswe.com LMSW requirements).",
    "Pass the ASWB Master's level exam within one year of the date the application for licensure is filed (ndbswe.com LMSW requirements).",
    "Pay the $25 non-refundable application fee and the $75 license fee (ndbswe.com LMSW initial application).",
    "No supervised-practice hours are required for LMSW licensure."
  ],
  "ladder": [
    {
      "rung": "bachelors",
      "abbr": "LBSW",
      "title": "Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker",
      "exam": "Bachelors",
      "supervised": false,
      "source": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/lsw/applyreqs.asp"
    },
    {
      "rung": "masters",
      "abbr": "LMSW",
      "title": "Licensed Master Social Worker",
      "exam": "Masters",
      "supervised": false,
      "source": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/lcsw/reqs.asp"
    },
    {
      "rung": "clinical",
      "abbr": "LCSW",
      "title": "Licensed Clinical Social Worker",
      "exam": "Clinical",
      "supervised": false,
      "source": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/licsw/reqs.asp"
    }
  ],
  "sources": [
    {
      "label": "North Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners · LMSW applicant resources",
      "url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/"
    },
    {
      "label": "ND Board of Social Work Examiners: LMSW requirements",
      "url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/lcsw/reqs.asp"
    },
    {
      "label": "ND Board of Social Work Examiners: LMSW initial application",
      "url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/lcsw/applyinitial/index.asp"
    },
    {
      "label": "LMSW fees · License renewal (all licenses expire December 31 of every odd-numbered year)",
      "url": "https://www.ndlegis.gov/information/acdata/pdf/75.5-02-03.pdf"
    },
    {
      "label": "LMSW fees · ASWB Masters examination",
      "url": "https://www.aswb.org/exam/"
    },
    {
      "label": "Social Work Licensure Compact · member jurisdictions",
      "url": "https://swcompact.org/compact-jurisdictions/"
    },
    {
      "label": "ND Board of Social Work Examiners: LCSW requirements",
      "url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/licsw/reqs.asp"
    },
    {
      "label": "ND Board of Social Work Examiners: LCSW initial application",
      "url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/licsw/initialapp.asp"
    },
    {
      "label": "ND Board of Social Work Examiners: Supervision of LCSW Applicants",
      "url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/mswsupervisionplan.asp"
    },
    {
      "label": "N.D.C.C. chapter 43-41 (Social Workers)",
      "url": "https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t43c41.pdf"
    }
  ],
  "records": [
    {
      "state": {
        "name": "North Dakota",
        "postal_code": "ND"
      },
      "license_target": {
        "track": "masters",
        "title": "Licensed Master Social Worker",
        "abbreviation": "LMSW"
      },
      "board": {
        "name": "North Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners",
        "source_url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/"
      },
      "fees": [
        {
          "name": "Non-refundable application fee",
          "amount_usd": 25,
          "source_url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/lcsw/applyinitial/index.asp",
          "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
        },
        {
          "name": "Initial license fee",
          "amount_usd": 75,
          "source_url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/lcsw/applyinitial/index.asp",
          "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
        },
        {
          "name": "License renewal (all licenses expire December 31 of every odd-numbered year)",
          "amount_usd": 75,
          "source_url": "https://www.ndlegis.gov/information/acdata/pdf/75.5-02-03.pdf",
          "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
        },
        {
          "name": "ASWB Masters examination",
          "amount_usd": 230,
          "source_url": "https://www.aswb.org/exam/",
          "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
        }
      ],
      "application_sequence": [
        "Hold a master's degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited college or university, or a Canadian college or university accredited by the Canadian Association for Social Work Education (ndbswe.com LMSW requirements).",
        "Pass the ASWB Master's level exam within one year of the date the application for licensure is filed (ndbswe.com LMSW requirements).",
        "Pay the $25 non-refundable application fee and the $75 license fee (ndbswe.com LMSW initial application).",
        "No supervised-practice hours are required for LMSW licensure."
      ],
      "aswb_exam": {
        "level": "Masters",
        "fee_usd": 230,
        "source_url": "https://www.aswb.org/exam/",
        "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
      },
      "supervision_requirement": {
        "experience_hours": null,
        "client_contact_hours": null,
        "supervision_hours": null,
        "minimum_months": null,
        "maximum_months": null,
        "notes": [
          "The Board's site serves LMSW content under legacy '/lic/lcsw/' URL paths. The page itself says: 'Before 8/1/2019, this level was known as the LCSW level and may still be reflected as such on some forms and information as we work to update them.' The clinical license is at '/lic/licsw/'.",
          "An applicant upgrading a current North Dakota LBSW pays only the $25 application fee (board initial-application page)."
        ]
      },
      "supervisor_eligibility": null,
      "forms": [],
      "processing_benchmark": null,
      "endorsement_rules": null,
      "compact_status": {
        "member": true,
        "multistate_licenses_available": null,
        "source_url": "https://swcompact.org/compact-jurisdictions/",
        "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
      },
      "last_verified": "2026-09-27",
      "sources": [
        {
          "label": "ND Board of Social Work Examiners: LMSW requirements",
          "url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/lcsw/reqs.asp"
        },
        {
          "label": "ND Board of Social Work Examiners: LMSW initial application",
          "url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/lcsw/applyinitial/index.asp"
        }
      ]
    },
    {
      "state": {
        "name": "North Dakota",
        "postal_code": "ND"
      },
      "license_target": {
        "track": "clinical",
        "title": "Licensed Clinical Social Worker",
        "abbreviation": "LCSW"
      },
      "board": {
        "name": "North Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners",
        "source_url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/"
      },
      "fees": [
        {
          "name": "Non-refundable application fee",
          "amount_usd": 25,
          "source_url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/licsw/initialapp.asp",
          "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
        },
        {
          "name": "Initial license fee",
          "amount_usd": 75,
          "source_url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/licsw/initialapp.asp",
          "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
        },
        {
          "name": "License renewal (all licenses expire December 31 of every odd-numbered year)",
          "amount_usd": 75,
          "source_url": "https://www.ndlegis.gov/information/acdata/pdf/75.5-02-03.pdf",
          "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
        },
        {
          "name": "ASWB Clinical examination",
          "amount_usd": 260,
          "source_url": "https://www.aswb.org/exam/",
          "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
        }
      ],
      "application_sequence": [
        "Hold a master's or higher degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited college or university, or a Canadian CASWE-accredited college or university (ndbswe.com LCSW requirements).",
        "Complete 3,000 hours of supervised clinical social work practice, post-master's degree, within a 4-year period (ndbswe.com LCSW requirements).",
        "Complete a minimum of 150 total hours of face-to-face supervision, of which no more than 50 may be group supervision (ndbswe.com supervision plan).",
        "The first 1,500 of the required hours must be supervised by a licensed clinical social worker; later hours may be under another board-approved qualified mental health professional only on a hardship finding (N.D.C.C. 43-41-04(3)(c)(2)).",
        "Pass the ASWB Clinical level exam within one year of the date the application for licensure is filed (ndbswe.com LCSW requirements)."
      ],
      "aswb_exam": {
        "level": "Clinical",
        "fee_usd": 260,
        "source_url": "https://www.aswb.org/exam/",
        "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
      },
      "supervision_requirement": {
        "experience_hours": {
          "value": 3000,
          "source_url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/licsw/reqs.asp",
          "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
        },
        "client_contact_hours": {
          "value": null,
          "source_url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/mswsupervisionplan.asp",
          "verified_date": "2026-09-27",
          "notes": "The Board's supervision-plan page states no client-contact figure separate from the 3,000-hour total."
        },
        "supervision_hours": {
          "value": 150,
          "source_url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/mswsupervisionplan.asp",
          "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
        },
        "minimum_months": null,
        "maximum_months": {
          "value": 48,
          "source_url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/licsw/reqs.asp",
          "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
        },
        "notes": [
          "The Board's supervision-plan page does not state a client-contact-hours figure separate from the 3,000-hour total, so client_contact_hours stays null.",
          "No calendar minimum is published, only the 4-year maximum, so minimum_months stays null. The Board says it cannot extend a plan past 4 years; hours from the start of the plan are lost instead.",
          "The Board's page prints the 3,000-hour and first-1,500-hours-under-an-LCSW text under the heading 'Qualification of Supervisor', but N.D.C.C. 43-41-04(3)(c)(2) makes it the applicant's requirement, not the supervisor's."
        ]
      },
      "supervisor_eligibility": [
        "A supervisor approved by the board, providing individual or group face-to-face supervision (N.D. Admin. Code 75.5-02-03-04.1(2), (5)).",
        "The applicant's initial 1,500 hours must be supervised by a licensed clinical social worker. Later hours may be supervised by other board-approved qualified mental health professionals if geography, disability, or another board-recognized hardship is a barrier; that professional must be registered or otherwise qualified as a clinical supervisor by their own licensing board (N.D.C.C. 43-41-04(3)(c)(2))."
      ],
      "forms": [
        {
          "name": "Supervision of LCSW Applicants (supervision plan)",
          "source_url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/mswsupervisionplan.asp"
        }
      ],
      "processing_benchmark": null,
      "endorsement_rules": null,
      "compact_status": {
        "member": true,
        "multistate_licenses_available": null,
        "source_url": "https://swcompact.org/compact-jurisdictions/",
        "verified_date": "2026-09-27"
      },
      "last_verified": "2026-09-27",
      "sources": [
        {
          "label": "ND Board of Social Work Examiners: LCSW requirements",
          "url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/licsw/reqs.asp"
        },
        {
          "label": "ND Board of Social Work Examiners: LCSW initial application",
          "url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/licsw/initialapp.asp"
        },
        {
          "label": "ND Board of Social Work Examiners: Supervision of LCSW Applicants",
          "url": "https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/mswsupervisionplan.asp"
        },
        {
          "label": "N.D.C.C. chapter 43-41 (Social Workers)",
          "url": "https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t43c41.pdf"
        },
        {
          "label": "N.D. Admin. Code chapter 75.5-02-03 (licensure, fees, supervision)",
          "url": "https://www.ndlegis.gov/information/acdata/pdf/75.5-02-03.pdf"
        }
      ],
      "gaps": {
        "supervision_requirement.minimum_months": {
          "kind": "unpublished",
          "note": "The board's LCSW page (https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/licsw/reqs.asp) publishes only the 4-year maximum, no minimum.",
          "sources": [],
          "checked": "2026-09-29",
          "ask_the_board": null
        }
      }
    }
  ],
  "dataProblems": [
    {
      "credential": "LCSW",
      "path": "supervision_requirement.minimum_months",
      "kind": "unpublished",
      "note": "The board's LCSW page (https://www.ndbswe.com/lic/licsw/reqs.asp) publishes only the 4-year maximum, no minimum.",
      "sources": [],
      "askTheBoard": null,
      "checked": "2026-09-29"
    }
  ]
}
